Quest 2 Learn

Quest 2 Learn

My reaction to this particular learning program is of excitement and wonder.  These children are using computers and technology to create games that could possibly revolutionize the teaching industry.  I heard someone in the video say if we teach our children today the way we did yesterday, we robe them of tomorrow.  I think that is very true particularly in this 21st Century world we live in now.

I think that the use of games doesn’t have to be limited to computers.  I have a strong believe that using sports or sport like games can also be a valuable tool for children to learn.  I hope that creative computer gaming can do as one speaker in the video mentioned that games be the means to instruct and test children all at once.

I have experience with playing games particularly video and computer games as I’ve grown up.  What didn’t come to my attention until I saw this video was that all games instruct or teach the gamer how to play and in finishing or “winning” the game the player knows the skills the game has taught you.  Unfortunately, when I think about educational games, they are all very remedial and meant for very small children.  I recall when I was learning to type on the computer I played a game that helped me learn it.  It wasn’t exactly exciting or provocative that I wanted to play it, although it was a game it didn’t really take my attention away from wanting to play real video games or on the computer.

Seeing the innovative things Quest 2 Learn is doing it might be possible for kids to create games that kids would be interested in enough to play to completion and actually learn something useful.

3 thoughts on “Quest 2 Learn

  1. I thought Quest 2 Learn was really interesting too. It was very eye opening to me. Before I thought of games as just something to brainlessly do. I played plenty of video games growing up, but until this video I didn’t realize how much problem solving I had to do for each of these games. I think it’s interesting coming at education from another angle.

    Oh and speaking of using physical gaming to teach too…I heard of one P.E. teacher teaching his students about elapsed time by making a giant clock on the floor of the gym and having students walk around on it and move to help them visualize it.

  2. I did a little research to see how effective this school is. Turns out a study done out of a University in Florida found that it’s very beneficial for students. Though the study was funded by Bill Gates’ Foundation so it may be biased towards technology.

Leave a Reply

